The Tokyo MOU is one of the most active regional port State control organizations in the world. The organization consists of 20 member Authorities in the Asia-Pacific region including Australia, Canada, Chile, China, Fiji, Hong Kong (China), Indonesia, Japan, Republic of Korea, Malaysia, the Marshall Islands, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, the Philippines, the Russian Federation, Singapore, Thailand, Vanuatu and Vietnam

 The main objective of the Tokyo MOU is to establish an effective port State control regime in the Asia-Pacific region through co-operation of its members and harmonization of their activities, to eliminate sub­standard shipping so as to promote maritime safety, to protect the marine environment and to safeguard working and living conditions on board ships.