所在位置

回望历史,帕劳旧称“贝劳 (Belau)”或“柳岛 (Pelew)”,现通称为帕劳共和国(帕劳语:Beluu 或 Belau),是一个位于西太平洋上的岛屿国家。全国有约 340 座岛屿,属于密克罗尼西亚加罗林群岛的西部群岛,总面积为 466 平方公里(约 180 平方英里)。人口最多的岛屿是科罗尔。首都恩吉鲁穆德位于岛屿巴伯尔道布岛附近,隶属于梅莱凯奥克州。帕劳的海上邻国包括印度尼西亚、菲律宾和密克罗尼西亚联邦。

该国的原著民大约 3000 年前从菲律宾迁移而来,直至约 900 年前还存在矮小黑人。欧洲人在 16 世纪首次发现了该群岛,并于 1574 年将其纳入了西属东印度群岛的版图。1898 年,随着西班牙在美西战争中战败,根据德西条约条款,该群岛于 1899 年出售给德意志帝国,隶属于德属新几内亚的管辖。大日本帝国海军在第一次世界大战中攻下了帕劳,随后国际联盟将该群岛划入了日本统治的南太平洋托管地范围。在第二次世界大战期间,作为马里亚纳群岛和帕劳群岛战事的一部分,美日军队之间开展了一系列小规模战斗,包括主要的贝里琉战役。

1947 年,帕劳与其他太平洋岛屿一起被划入 受美国托管的太平洋岛屿托管领土。1979 年,帕劳公投反对加入密克罗尼西亚联邦;根据与美国之间的《自由联合协议》,帕劳在 1994 年完全独立。

Location

 

Palau historically Belau or Pelew), officially the Republic of Palau (Palauan: Beluu er a Belau), is an island country located in the western Pacific Ocean. The country contains approximately 340 islands, forming the western chain of the Caroline Islands in Micronesia, and has an area of 466 square kilometers (180 sq mi). The most populous island is Koror. The capital Ngerulmud is located on the nearby island of Babeldaob, in Melekeok State. Palau shares maritime boundaries with Indonesia, the Philippines, and the Federated States of Micronesia.

 

 

The country was originally settled approximately 3,000 years ago by migrants from the Philippines and sustained a Negrito population until around 900 years ago. The islands were  first explored by Europeans in the 16th century, and were made part of the Spanish East Indies in 1574. Following Spain’s defeat in the Spanish–American War in 1898, the islands were sold to Imperial Germany in 1899 under the terms of the German–Spanish Treaty, where they were administered as part of German New Guinea. The Imperial Japanese Navy conquered Palau during World War I, and the islands were later made a part of the Japanese-ruled South Pacific Mandateby the League of Nations. During World War II, skirmishes, including the major Battle of Peleliu, were fought between American and Japanese troops as part of the Mariana and Palau Islands campaign.

Along with other Pacific Islands, Palau was made a part of the United States-governed 

Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands in 1947. Having voted against joining the Federated States of Micronesia in 1979, the islands gained full sovereignty in 1994 under a Compact of Free Association with the United States.