今天的帕劳

独立的帕劳

20 世纪 60 年代太平洋岛屿托管地高级专员和参谋

1979 年,托管领地四个政治实体合并,组成密克罗尼西亚联邦。帕劳与马绍尔群岛拒绝加入该联邦。帕劳位于加罗林群岛的最西端。1978 年,帕劳决定成为独立国家,该决定得到了菲律宾、台湾地区和日本的广泛支持。1981 年,随着新宪法的出台,帕劳改名为帕劳共和国。

 

1982 年,帕劳共和国与美国签订了《自由联合协议》。同年,帕劳共和国成为《瑙鲁协定》创始成员国。在经过八次全民投票,并修订帕劳宪法后,该协定最终于 1993 年获批通过。该协定于 1994 年 10 月 1 日正式生效。这一刻标志着帕劳共和国 (Palau de jure) 正式独立。实际上,帕劳已在 1994 年 5 月 25 日结束了托管协议,成为了独立国家。帕劳与菲律宾两国在 1994 年之前已建立起外交途径,但在 1994 年两国再次重新建立了正式外交关系。此外,帕劳也是太平洋岛国论坛成员国之一。

1998 年,参议院通过了将帕劳作为“离岸”金融中心的立法。

2001 年,帕劳通过了国内第一部银行管制条例和反洗钱法。

2005 年,帕劳带头发起密克罗尼西亚挑战。预计到 2020 年,该项计划将为参与国境内 30% 的沿海近岸水域和 20% 的林地提供有力的保护。, which would conserve 30% of near-shore coastal waters and 20% of forest land of participating countries by 2020.

2012 年,帕劳洛克群岛被列为联合国教科文组织世界遗产地。

2015 年,帕劳加入了以菲律宾为首的气候变迁脆弱国家论坛。同时,帕劳政府全力保护着国内 80% 的水资源,成为第一个完成此重大环保举措的国家。在不到两年的时间里,帕劳经济因国内水资源保护措施而获益,实现了大幅增长。

2017 年,帕劳成为了第一个立下生态承诺《帕劳誓约》的国家。这份承诺将印于每份帕劳护照和外国护照之上。

2018 年,帕劳和菲律宾重新建立起经济和外交往来关系。因帕劳人是东南亚地区人种,菲律宾支持帕劳成为东南亚国家联盟观察员国。

Present

Independence

TTPI High Commissioner and staff, 1960s

Four of the Trust Territory districts joined together and formed the Federated States of Micronesia in 1979, but the districts of Palau and the Marshall Islands declined to participate. Palau, the westernmost cluster of the Carolines, instead opted for independent status in 1978, which was widely supported by the Philippines, Taiwan, and Japan. It approved a new constitution and became the Republic of Palau in 1981.

 

It signed a Compact of Free Association with the United States in 1982. In the same year, Palau became one of the founding members of the Nauru Agreement. After eight referenda and an amendment to the Palauan constitution, the Compact was ratified in 1993. The Compact went into effect on 1 October 1994, marking Palau de jure independent, although it had been de facto independent since 25 May 1994, when the trusteeship ended. Formal diplomatic relations with the Philippines was re-established in the same year, although the two nations already had diplomatic back channels prior to 1994. Palau also became a member of the Pacific Islands Forum.

Legislation making Palau an “offshore” financial center was passed by the Senate in 1998.

In 2001, Palau passed its first bank regulation and anti-money laundering laws.

In 2005, Palau led the Micronesia challenge, which would conserve 30% of near-shore coastal waters and 20% of forest land of participating countries by 2020.

In 2012, the Rock Islands of Palau was declared as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

In 2015, Palau became a member of the Climate Vulnerable Forum under the chairmanship of the Philippines, and at the same time, the country officially protected 80% of its water resources, becoming the first country to do so. The protection of its water resources made significant increases in the country’s economy in less than two years.

In 2017, the nation became the first to establish an eco-promise, known as the Palau Pledge, which are stamped on local and foreign passports.

In 2018, Palau and the Philippines began re-connecting their economic and diplomatic relations. The Philippines has supported Palau to become an observer state in ASEAN, as Palau also has Southeast Asian ethnic origins.