The ILO’s Maritime Labour Convention (MLC), 2006 provides comprehensive rights and protection at work for the world’s more than 1.2 million seafarers.  The Convention aims to achieve both decent work for seafarers and secure economic interests in fair competition for quality shipowners. As an estimated 90% of world trade is carried on ships seafarers are essential to international trade and the international economic and trade system.  The new labour standard consolidates and updates more than 68 international labour standards related to the Maritime sector adopted over the last 80 years.

The Republic of Palau ratified the convention in May 2012 further confirming the commitment to ensure the rights and protection of seafarer’s on board of Palau flagged vessels.

Palau International Ship Registry has issued Marine Notice 138.1 which informs about the procedures and certification under the MLC 2006.

Palau International Ship Registry also invites shipowners and managers to review DMLC Part I


Palau International Ship Registry, following the Maritime Act and the Republic of Palau Maritime Regulations requires that all vessels registered under the Palau Flag are in compliance with the international regulations applicable to the vessel size and area of trading as per the IMO Regulations.

Shipowners are welcome to ask the Maritime Safety and Environment Protection Department for the Regulations applicable to the vessel at any time.

Exemptions can be requested directly to the Maritime Safety and Environment Protection Department or through the Recognized Organization issuing the Statutory Certificates to the vessel.

Vessels registered with the Palau Flag must have valid Class Certificate issued by a Classification Society who is a member of IACS only.

The list of Authorized Recognized Organizations with unrestricted authorization are:

  • America Bureau of Shipping (ABS)
  • Bureau Veritas (BV)
  • China Classification Society (CCS)
  • ClassNK (Nippon Kaiji Kyokai)
  • Croatian Register of Shipping (CRS)
  • DNV-GL
  • Korean Register of Shipping (KRS)
  • Lloyd’s Register (LR)
  • Polski Register of Shipping (PRS)
  • Registro Italiano Navale (RINA)
  • Russia Maritime Register of Shipping (RMRS)
  • New United Maritime Services (NUMS)
  • International Register of Shipping (IRS)
  • International Naval Surveys Bureau(INSB)

The list of Authorized Recognized Organizations with restricted authorization are:

  • Bulgarian Register of Shipping (BKR)
  • Maritime Lloyd (ML)
  • Overseas Maritime Certification Services(OMCS)
  • Phoenix Register of Shipping (PHRS)
  • Turkish Lloyd (TL)

If the current Recognized Organization of the vessel is not included in the list above, the owner might ask the Palau Flag Administration if such can be accepted on a case by case basis.